Fulton Homes News

  • Share

Fulton Homes' 'School Salute From Home'
Awards Its December Group of Winners


Students from around the Valley sing and perform
solo renditions of the national anthem

School Salute


Fulton Homes' "School Salute From Home" program has recognized a new group of winners from its 2020-2021 school year. The program encourages students from around the Valley enrolled in grades 6-12 to create and perform their own renditions of "The Star-Spangled Banner" from home. These talented winners are awarded individual prizes that can be used to help their future musical careers.

"We've been very impressed throughout the year with the talent displayed by these students," said Doug Fulton, chief executive officer of Fulton Homes. "The way they have been able to adapt and perform, while growing their musical skills, is truly inspiring."

December's first School Salute winner was Timmy Nguyen, a sophomore from Trevor G. Browne High School. As a multitalented musician, Nguyen recorded five separate videos and pieced them all together to make one video—he played all of the brass instruments. While he doesn't necessarily want to major in music in college, Nguyen plans on minoring in it and pursuing a career in electrical engineering. To watch his performance, click here.

Randy LeGendre, from Glendale High School, was December's second winner. He performed the national anthem on violin. LeGendre started playing the violin when he was 6 years old. He currently plays in the West Valley Youth Orchestra. LeGendre credits a lot of practice for getting him to where he is today. To watch his performance, click here.

Our third weekly winner was Kyra Tetors, a sophomore at Skyline High School in Mesa. Tetors said she was in 5th grade when she first joined the school band. The flute was Tetors' instrument of choice, and she's still playing six years later. She is currently in marching band and honors band. Tetors says she will use part of the award money to get her flute cleaned. To watch her performance, click here.

And our last winner in December was Xavier Smith, a senior from Alhambra High School in Phoenix. He has been singing for six years. Smith plans to pursue an education in music and become a choir teacher. He says he is looking forward to getting a microphone, so he can record his own music. To watch Smith's performance, click here.

Each winner is recognized on air every day at noon on KOOL-FM for one week. And each winner also receives a $250 gift card from either Milano Music Center or Guitar Center.

Now in its 10th consecutive year, the program runs from August 2020 to May 2021. To listen to the national anthem performances, tune in to 94.5 KOOL-FM every day at noon. To catch up on winners from previous weeks, or to submit your own performance for a chance to win, click here.



[{"text": "Fulton Homes","href":"/news/fulton-homes","nodes":[{"text": "EPA Trifecta of Accolades 2020","href":"/news/fulton-homes/EPA-trifecta","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Indoor AirPLUS Award 2020","href":"/news/fulton-homes/indoor-air-plus-award-2020","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "2020 ENERGY STAR® Partner of the Year","href":"/news/fulton-homes/2020-energy-star-partner-of-the-year","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "2018 ENERGY STAR® Partner of the Year","href":"/news/fulton-homes/2018-energy-star-partner-of-the-year","nodes":[{"text": "Fulton Homes Energy Stars","href":"/news/fulton-homes/2018-energy-star-partner-of-the-year/2018-energy-stars","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Indoor AirPLUS Award 2018","href":"/news/fulton-homes/indoor-air-plus-award-2018","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fulton Homes New Patriotic Commercials","href":"/news/fulton-homes/new-patriotic-commercials","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "SRP's Champions of Energy Efficiency","href":"/news/fulton-homes/champions-of-energy-efficiency","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Glennwilde Opening","href":"/news/fulton-homes/glennwilde","nodes":[{"text": "Maricopa Housing Market Rebound","href":"/news/fulton-homes/glennwilde/glennwilde_maricopa","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "2nd Fastest Growing Private Homebuilder","href":"/news/fulton-homes/fastest-growing","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fulton Homes New Patriotic Commercial","href":"/news/fulton-homes/new-patriotic-commercial","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Cooley Station Flag Donation","href":"/news/fulton-homes/cooley-station-flag-donation","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Lakeview Trails Opening","href":"/news/fulton-homes/lakeview-trails","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Design Center Setting Trends","href":"/news/fulton-homes/design-center","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Energy Efficiency","href":"/news/fulton-homes/energy-efficient","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Builder 100 List 2019","href":"/news/fulton-homes/builder100","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Virtual Shopping","href":"/news/fulton-homes/virtual-shopping","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "WaterSense Partner of the Year 2020","href":"/news/fulton-homes/water-sense-2020","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Escalante Silverado Pre-Sales","href":"/news/fulton-homes/escalante-silverado-pre-sales","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "No Waiting, No Lottery Campaign","href":"/news/fulton-homes/no-waiting-no-lottery","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Escalante North Shore Pre-Sales","href":"/news/fulton-homes/escalante-north-shore-pre-sales","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Home Office Design Trends","href":"/news/fulton-homes/home-office-design-trends","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fulton Promise","href":"/news/fulton-homes/fulton-promise","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fulton Homes Healthy Homes","href":"/news/fulton-homes/healthy-homes","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "New Home Market Trends","href":"/news/fulton-homes/mortgage-trends","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Three EPA Awards 2020","href":"/news/fulton-homes/3-epa-awards-2020","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":true,"selected":false},"backColor":"#CCCCCC"},{"text": "Fulton Foundation","href":"/news/fulton-foundation","nodes":[{"text": "ALS Ice Bucket Challenge","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/als-ice-bucket-challenge","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Suns Charities 3-Point Zone 2018-19","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/3-point-zone-2019","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Water Safety","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety","nodes":[{"text": "2 Seconds is Too Long 2020","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/2-seconds_2020","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fence Patrol 2020","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/article388","nodes":[{"text": "Fence Patrol Winner - Wilhelmy/Ortiz Family","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/article388/wilhelmy-ortiz-family","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Drowning Prevention Tips","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/drowning-prevention","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "University Education","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education","nodes":[{"text": "ASU gets $100M Gift","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education/asu-100-million","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Mary Lou College of Educaton","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education/mary-lou-fulton-college-of-education","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "ASU Names Fulton Center","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education/asu-fulton-center","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "BYU College Renamed","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education/byu-college-renamed","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Youth Education","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education","nodes":[{"text": "Be KOOL Stay in School","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/be-kool-stay-in-school","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Teacher of the Week 2014-2015","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015","nodes":[{"text": "Teacher of the Year 2015 - Rachel MacDonald","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/teacher-of-the-year-2015","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Molly Singer","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/molly-singer","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Rae Ormsby","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/rae-ormsby","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Denise Murphy","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/denise-murphy","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Janet Brown","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/janet-brown","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Cassandra Anderson","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/cassandra-anderson","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Amy Derryberry","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/amy-derryberry","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Tammi Hausman","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/tammi-hausman","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Mark Aralica","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/mark-aralica","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Rachel MacDonald","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/rachel-macdonald","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Stacey Orest","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/stacey-orest","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Steve Norton","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/steve-norton","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Packs for Kids","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/Packs-For-Kids","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "S.O.S for Teachers School Supplies","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/sos-for-teacher-supplies","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Stuff The Bus 2019","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/stuff-the-bus-2019","nodes":[{"text": "Stuff The Bus 2019 Finale","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/stuff-the-bus-2019/finale","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Youth Assistance Foundation","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/youth-assistance-foundation","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute 2020-2021","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021","nodes":[{"text": "School Salute Winner Dylan Auer","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/september-winner-dylan-auer","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Kyra O'Connor","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/september-winner-kyra-oconnor","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Danielle Porten","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/september-winner-danielle-porten","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Joseph Giacinto","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/october-winner-joseph-giacinto","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Avery Kronz","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/october-winner-avery-kronz","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Justin Harvey","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/october-winner-justin-harvey","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Sydney Swanson","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/october-winner-sydney-swanson","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Men Dung","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/november-winner-men-dung","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Jesus Bustamente","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/november-winner-jesus-bustamente","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Amanda Albrecht","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/november-winner-amanda-albrecht","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Sophia La Rue","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/november-winner-sophia-la-rue","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Sonny Correa","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/november-winner-sonny-correa","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute December Winners","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/school-salute-december-winners","state":{"selected":true}}],"state":{"expanded":true,"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":true,"selected":false}},{"text": "Books and Toys for Girls and Boys - 2020","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/article411","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Cause for Paws 2020","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/cause-for-paws-2020","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fly the Flag 2020","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/fly-the-flag-2020","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Philanthropy","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy","nodes":[{"text": "2010 Hearthstone Humanitarian Award","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy/hearthstone-humanitarian-award","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "50 Most Generous of 2007","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy/50-most-generous","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Teaching Others How to Give","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy/teaching-other-how-to-give","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Chronicles of Philanthropy","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy/chronicles-of-philanthropy","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Katrina Relief Efforts","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/katrina","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Non Profit Submission Form","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/non-profit-submission-form","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Mary Lou Fulton","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/mary-lou","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Feed My Starving Children","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/fmsc","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Giving Back 2018","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/giving-back-2018","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Pick of the Litter Campaign","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/pick-of-the-litter","nodes":[{"text": "Pick of the Litter May Winners","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/pick-of-the-litter/potl-may-winners","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Pick of the Litter June Winners","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/pick-of-the-litter/potl-june-winners","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Pick of the Litter July Winners","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/pick-of-the-litter/potl-july-winners","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Don't Fur-Get Your Pet","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/dont-fur-get","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Kiss Me I'm Irish Run 2020","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/kiss-me-im-irish","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Healthcare ThankYou","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/healthcare-thank-you","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":true,"selected":false},"backColor":"#CCCCCC"}]