Fulton Homes News

  • Share

For Every Homeowner's Consideration:
Design Trends for Home Offices


Local Homebuilder Shares Details on Office Design Trends as Working from Home Becomes the Norm

Design Trends for Home Offices


Fulton Homes, Arizona's largest family-owned and -operated homebuilder, and the Fulton Homes Design Center, are seeing an increase in homebuyers' "must haves" as it relates to home offices. Dramatic shifts in the everyday lives of homebuyers have caused families to rethink a once-overlooked, private working corridor.

The home office does not only benefit the "worker." Recent months have shown that many different family members can end up at home for unknown periods of time, using different devices to keep up-to-date with schooling, friends and families.

"As a homebuilder, we usually see trends as they are evolving in the early stages," said Dennis Webb, vice president of operations for Fulton Homes. "Employers are adapting to having remote employees, and the workforce is basically able to live wherever they want at this point. The challenges of daily commutes and in-person meetings don't play as much of a factor."

As a service to local homebuyers looking for a home office upgrade, the Fulton Homes Design Center team is offering some of the latest and greatest trends for homeowners to keep top-of-mind as they enter the design phase. Here are the top three trends that stand out:

  • "Zoom Room": This is top on the trend list, as many are spending a lot more time working from home. When the telecommunication revolution ramped up in March, companies were forced to hold all meetings via virtual videoconferencing platforms—Zoom, Microsoft Teams, etc.—and many employees' home offices were not up to par. Home offices with a "zoom-centric" focus—including an area with good lighting and videoconference-friendly backdrops—help facilitate a good first impression when working with people whom you've not met in person, and whose image of you is based on a rectangular representation in a virtual window. Trendy, professional backgrounds growing in popularity are bookshelves, subway tiles and plant-filled oases. To look one's best while videoconferencing, a flattering angle is key. The best practice is to set up the camera at a height even with one's hairline, a reasonable distance from the face, then angling down toward the eyes.
  • Lighting and Technology: Poor lighting can cause reduced energy, dampened morale and increased eyestrain, so having proper lighting in home offices is a high priority. Indirect and adjustable lighting fixtures are trendy additions to home offices: LED lightbulbs are good; a high CRI ring light is better; but natural light is best, according to our experts. Speedy internet connectivity throughout the home begins with finding the perfect location for a router within a home office.
  • Soundproofing: In a home office, this is a must-have, considering today's teleconference-centric environment. Background noise can cause unfavorable meeting experiences so buyers are investing in sound proofing technologies via individual office walls and carpeted flooring, noted for sound absorption.

The future of home offices?
Dual Offices: Having dual offices may be the next pivot in home office design trends. With two (or more) family members working, schooling from home—and spending more than half their waking hours there—the need for customized, separate office spaces is near.

Fulton Homes, with its 13,000-square-foot Design Center located in Tempe, offers the widest selection and the finest design experience of any homebuilder in Arizona. Fulton Homes buyers have the luxury of selecting from a variety of room options to satisfy all needs of families diverse in lifestyle and size.



[{"text": "Fulton Homes","href":"/news/fulton-homes","nodes":[{"text": "EPA Trifecta of Accolades 2020","href":"/news/fulton-homes/EPA-trifecta","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Indoor AirPLUS Award 2020","href":"/news/fulton-homes/indoor-air-plus-award-2020","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "2020 ENERGY STAR® Partner of the Year","href":"/news/fulton-homes/2020-energy-star-partner-of-the-year","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "2018 ENERGY STAR® Partner of the Year","href":"/news/fulton-homes/2018-energy-star-partner-of-the-year","nodes":[{"text": "Fulton Homes Energy Stars","href":"/news/fulton-homes/2018-energy-star-partner-of-the-year/2018-energy-stars","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Indoor AirPLUS Award 2018","href":"/news/fulton-homes/indoor-air-plus-award-2018","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fulton Homes New Patriotic Commercials","href":"/news/fulton-homes/new-patriotic-commercials","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "SRP's Champions of Energy Efficiency","href":"/news/fulton-homes/champions-of-energy-efficiency","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Glennwilde Opening","href":"/news/fulton-homes/glennwilde","nodes":[{"text": "Maricopa Housing Market Rebound","href":"/news/fulton-homes/glennwilde/glennwilde_maricopa","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "2nd Fastest Growing Private Homebuilder","href":"/news/fulton-homes/fastest-growing","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fulton Homes New Patriotic Commercial","href":"/news/fulton-homes/new-patriotic-commercial","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Cooley Station Flag Donation","href":"/news/fulton-homes/cooley-station-flag-donation","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Lakeview Trails Opening","href":"/news/fulton-homes/lakeview-trails","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Design Center Setting Trends","href":"/news/fulton-homes/design-center","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Energy Efficiency","href":"/news/fulton-homes/energy-efficient","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Builder 100 List 2019","href":"/news/fulton-homes/builder100","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Virtual Shopping","href":"/news/fulton-homes/virtual-shopping","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "WaterSense Partner of the Year 2020","href":"/news/fulton-homes/water-sense-2020","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Escalante Silverado Pre-Sales","href":"/news/fulton-homes/escalante-silverado-pre-sales","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "No Waiting, No Lottery Campaign","href":"/news/fulton-homes/no-waiting-no-lottery","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Escalante North Shore Pre-Sales","href":"/news/fulton-homes/escalante-north-shore-pre-sales","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Home Office Design Trends","href":"/news/fulton-homes/home-office-design-trends","state":{"selected":true}},{"text": "Fulton Promise","href":"/news/fulton-homes/fulton-promise","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fulton Homes Healthy Homes","href":"/news/fulton-homes/healthy-homes","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "New Home Market Trends","href":"/news/fulton-homes/mortgage-trends","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Three EPA Awards 2020","href":"/news/fulton-homes/3-epa-awards-2020","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":true,"selected":false},"backColor":"#CCCCCC"},{"text": "Fulton Foundation","href":"/news/fulton-foundation","nodes":[{"text": "ALS Ice Bucket Challenge","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/als-ice-bucket-challenge","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Suns Charities 3-Point Zone 2018-19","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/3-point-zone-2019","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Water Safety","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety","nodes":[{"text": "2 Seconds is Too Long 2020","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/2-seconds_2020","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fence Patrol 2020","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/article388","nodes":[{"text": "Fence Patrol Winner - Wilhelmy/Ortiz Family","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/article388/wilhelmy-ortiz-family","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Drowning Prevention Tips","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/water-safety/drowning-prevention","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "University Education","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education","nodes":[{"text": "ASU gets $100M Gift","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education/asu-100-million","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Mary Lou College of Educaton","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education/mary-lou-fulton-college-of-education","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "ASU Names Fulton Center","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education/asu-fulton-center","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "BYU College Renamed","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/university-education/byu-college-renamed","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Youth Education","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education","nodes":[{"text": "Be KOOL Stay in School","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/be-kool-stay-in-school","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Teacher of the Week 2014-2015","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015","nodes":[{"text": "Teacher of the Year 2015 - Rachel MacDonald","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/teacher-of-the-year-2015","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Molly Singer","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/molly-singer","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Rae Ormsby","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/rae-ormsby","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Denise Murphy","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/denise-murphy","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Janet Brown","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/janet-brown","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Cassandra Anderson","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/cassandra-anderson","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Amy Derryberry","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/amy-derryberry","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Tammi Hausman","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/tammi-hausman","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Mark Aralica","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/mark-aralica","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Rachel MacDonald","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/rachel-macdonald","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Stacey Orest","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/stacey-orest","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "TOW Winner - Steve Norton","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/teacher-of-the-week-2014-2015/steve-norton","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Packs for Kids","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/Packs-For-Kids","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "S.O.S for Teachers School Supplies","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/sos-for-teacher-supplies","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Stuff The Bus 2019","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/stuff-the-bus-2019","nodes":[{"text": "Stuff The Bus 2019 Finale","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/stuff-the-bus-2019/finale","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Youth Assistance Foundation","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/youth-assistance-foundation","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute 2020-2021","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021","nodes":[{"text": "School Salute Winner Dylan Auer","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/september-winner-dylan-auer","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Kyra O'Connor","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/september-winner-kyra-oconnor","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Danielle Porten","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/september-winner-danielle-porten","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Joseph Giacinto","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/october-winner-joseph-giacinto","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Avery Kronz","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/october-winner-avery-kronz","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Justin Harvey","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/october-winner-justin-harvey","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Sydney Swanson","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/october-winner-sydney-swanson","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Men Dung","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/november-winner-men-dung","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Jesus Bustamente","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/november-winner-jesus-bustamente","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Amanda Albrecht","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/november-winner-amanda-albrecht","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Sophia La Rue","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/november-winner-sophia-la-rue","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute Winner Sonny Correa","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/november-winner-sonny-correa","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "School Salute December Winners","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/youth-education/school-salute-2020-2021/school-salute-december-winners","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Books and Toys for Girls and Boys - 2020","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/article411","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Cause for Paws 2020","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/cause-for-paws-2020","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Fly the Flag 2020","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/fly-the-flag-2020","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Philanthropy","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy","nodes":[{"text": "2010 Hearthstone Humanitarian Award","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy/hearthstone-humanitarian-award","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "50 Most Generous of 2007","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy/50-most-generous","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Teaching Others How to Give","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy/teaching-other-how-to-give","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Chronicles of Philanthropy","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/philanthropy/chronicles-of-philanthropy","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Katrina Relief Efforts","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/katrina","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Non Profit Submission Form","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/non-profit-submission-form","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Mary Lou Fulton","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/mary-lou","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Feed My Starving Children","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/fmsc","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Giving Back 2018","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/giving-back-2018","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Pick of the Litter Campaign","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/pick-of-the-litter","nodes":[{"text": "Pick of the Litter May Winners","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/pick-of-the-litter/potl-may-winners","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Pick of the Litter June Winners","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/pick-of-the-litter/potl-june-winners","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Pick of the Litter July Winners","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/pick-of-the-litter/potl-july-winners","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":false,"selected":false}},{"text": "Don't Fur-Get Your Pet","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/dont-fur-get","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Kiss Me I'm Irish Run 2020","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/kiss-me-im-irish","state":{"selected":false}},{"text": "Healthcare ThankYou","href":"/news/fulton-foundation/healthcare-thank-you","state":{"selected":false}}],"state":{"expanded":true,"selected":false},"backColor":"#CCCCCC"}]